Why is there a need for Bayesian parameter estimate analysis if Match filtering can detect GW signals? Is Match filtering used only for detection then Bayesian Inference techniques are used for a better complete description of the event?

I apologize in advance if my question is a bit silly and basic! I am currently undergoing workshop #5 and must say it has been highly informative to a beginner like me, I am currently an undergrad studying Physics.

From what I recall watching the talks given by the experts, Match filtering uses a large template bank of simulated gravitational waveforms for different parameters which are then used to detect the presence of similar waveforms in unknown signals (given by the Signal to Noise ratio across the signal)

If a particular unknown signal matches with one of the templates (with a high enough SNR), would that not infer the occurrence of an event similar to that of the template? So why is there a need for Bayesian parameter estimation techniques, (also from what I recall there can be 15 parameters that can describe an event, are these all of the 15 considered to generate the waveforms used in the template bank)

Also, my General Relativity knowledge is not too well but say at a given time we consider the superimposed effects of all the gravitational waves Impacting Earth, should that affect the distances and time we experience?

Thanking in advance

2 Likes

@herwins Thank you for your question!

More or less: Yes! Matched filtering is used for detection, and Bayesian parameter estimation is used for a more complete description of the source. Here are a few differences:

• To make a search with a template bank possible computationally, we typically search only over 3 parameters (m1, m2, and effective spin). So, we don’t get measurements for all 15 parameters from the matched filter search.