Understanding waveform modelling

I am currently an undergraduate student working on a project on generating gravitational waveforms and I have a few questions:

1. Is there a preference when modeling eccentric orbits to use a mass ratio close to one? is it done to make computations faster? precisely two eccentric waveform models/calculations ( one, two)where I have noticed this, I understand two instances are not enough to make a conclusion. (I understand
    LIGO detectors are not sensitive enough to detect eccentricity)

2. Many of the parameters estimated for GW events I have seen have relatively high absolute errors as can be seen here for mass and can take a range of values,

and these estimated parameters keep changing with new revisions (different versions over time) Firstly what causes these revisions? (does it have to do with Bayesian statistics and new data is somehow used?) secondly, given there is a wide range of possible value for the individual parameters does this mean there is set of waveforms with different set of parameters that can define the event?

1. I have been able to generate a waveform using a program described here (uses the generic Implicit Rotating Source model, which does have some simplifications), and have been trying to compare it with waveform models such as SEOBNRv4HM and IMRPhenomD using the PyCBC library and I formed the following plot:

I have been trying to use the match feature of the PyCBC library. but am wondering how do i convert by numpy array to be used as a time series which i can use in the matching feature?? also i do understand the matching is performed by evaluating psd but its output is just a number what exactly does the number represent??

I’ve noticed these are many questions for a single post! these were just passing through my head and thought this would be a good place to ask some of them.

1 Like

@herwins Thank you for the great questions!