Estimating observed frequency and its time derivative

Hello,

I am new to gravitational wave analysis and I am currently going through the paper on the first ever detection: Observation of Gravitational Waves from a Binary Black Hole Merger

My question is how to estimate the observed frequency and its time derivative. The paper states (on page 3) that they were able to estimate these values from Fig. 1, but I was wondering if there was a way to get the exact frequency without having to sort of “eyeball” it from the graph. The actual methods used were not clear to me. (Apologies in advance if the answer is obvious and I’m just missing it!)

Thanks,
Alex

@AlexWinegardner Thank you for the question!

I think there’s different ways to answer this question. If by “actual methods”, you mean "how does the LIGO/Virgo/KAGRA collaboration do this, the answer is that we try fitting different waveforms to the data, and see which one fits the best.

You can try a cartoon version of this on “Step 3” of the GWOSC Learning Path .

For the papers we write, we typically use a Bayesian sampler, like bilby, to try LOTS of different waveforms, in a process called parameter estimation.

Having said all of that, there are a few good papers that show methods for trying to directly extract the f and f_dot from the data. Here are two of my favorites, linked below.

Good luck!

1 Like

Hi @jonah thank you so much for your reply, I greatly appreciate it!

I will take the time to go through the resources you provided, they look very informative.

@AlexWinegardner Good question!

The observed frequency and its time derivative can be estimated from the time-frequency representation of the gravitational wave signal, often referred to as a spectrogram or a Q-transform of the data. This is essentially what is shown in Figure 1 of the paper.